International Convention for the Suppression of Acts of Nuclear Terrorism (Nuclear Terrorism Convention or ICSANT)

The Nuclear Terrorism Convention's main objective relates to the criminalisation of a number of nuclear and radioactive material related offences, the establishment of jurisdiction over these offences and the co-operation among states parties, with the United Nations and with the International Atomic Energy Agency in specified matters.

  • Adopted: 13 April 2005
  • Opened for signature: 14 September 2005
  • Entered into force: 7 July 2007
  • Parties: 121 (see table below)

The text of the Nuclear Terrorism Convention is available here.

More information, including the current status of the Nuclear Terrorism Convention, is available here.

The following articles related to the Nuclear Terrorism Convention were published in the Nuclear Law Bulletin and Principles and Practice of International Nuclear Law:


Parties to the International Convention for the Suppression of Acts of Nuclear Terrorism
(Nuclear Terrorism Convention or ICSANT)
Afghanistan China* Hungary* Madagascar Panama Sweden*
Albania Comoros India* Malawi Paraguay Switzerland*
Algeria Costa Rica Indonesia Mali Peru Tajikistan
Antigua and Barbuda Côte d'Ivoire Iraq Malta Poland Thailand
Argentina* Croatia Italy Mauritania Portugal Tunisia
Armenia* Cuba Jamaica Mexico* Qatar Türkiye
Australia Cyprus Japan* Moldova Romania* Turkmenistan
Austria Czech Republic* Jordan Mongolia Russia* Ukraine*
Azerbaijan Democratic Republic of the Congo Kazakhstan Montenegro Saint Kitts and Nevis United Arab Emirates*
Bahrain Denmark Kenya Morocco Saint Lucia United Kingdom*
Bangladesh Djibouti Kiribati Namibia Saint Vincent and the Grenadines United States
Belarus* Dominican Republic Korea* Nauru San Marino Uruguay
Belgium* El Salvador Kuwait Netherlands* Saudi Arabia Uzbekistan
Benin Fiji Kyrgyzstan New Zealand Serbia Viet Nam
Bosnia and Herzegovina Finland* Latvia Nicaragua Singapore Yemen
Botswana France* Lebanon Niger Slovak Republic* Zambia
Brazil* Gabon Lesotho Nigeria Slovenia*  
Burundi Georgia Libya North Macedonia Solomon Islands  
Canada* Germany Liechtenstein Norway South Africa*  
Central African Republic Guatemala Lithuania Oman Spain*  
Chile Guinea-Bissau Luxembourg Palestinian Authority Sri Lanka  
* Country with at least one nuclear power plant in operation.