



## **Multinational Design Evaluation Programme (MDEP)**

# 3<sup>rd</sup> MDEP Conference on New Reactor Design Activities

Bethesda, Maryland, USA 14-15 May 2014

**Programme** 

# 14 May 2014

#### **OPENING SESSION**

Chairs: Dr. Allison Macfarlane, MDEP Policy Group (PG) Chair, Chair US NRC Mr. Javier Reig, Nuclear Energy Agency

#### 09:00-10:00 Welcome and opening of conference

Welcoming and introductory remarks

Dr. Allison Macfarlane and Mr. Javier Reig

• Summary of MDEP achievements

Ms. Sophie Mourlon and Mr. Gary Holahan, MDEP Steering Technical Committee

#### **SESSION 1**

### **Design-Specific Working Groups**

10:15-12:00

Chairs: Mr. Petteri Tiippana, Finland PG member,
Director-General STUK
Mr. Fredrik Hassel, Sweden PG member,
Deputy Director-General SSM

- Introduction of the session
- MDEP activities and accomplishments
  - Mr. Lawrence Burkhart, Chair of the AP1000WG, US NRC
- Industry activities related to new reactor designs
  - Mr. Richard DeLong, Director, International Licensing and Regulatory Support, Westinghouse, USA
  - Mr. Claude Jaouen, Senior Executive Vice President, Reactors & Services, AREVA, France
  - Dr. Hae-Ryong Hwang, Senior Vice President and Director of KEPCO E&C Power Engineering Research Institute, Korea
  - Mr. Zonglin Guo, Deputy General Manager, TNPJVC, China
  - Mr. Mikhail Bykov, Deputy Designer General, OKB Gidropress, Russian Federation
- Discussion

#### 12:00-14:00 Lunch

#### **SESSION 2**

### **Commissioning Activities**

14:00-15:30

Chairs: Mr. Wang Zhongtang, China PG member, Vice-Administrator NNSA Mr. William Travers, United Arab Emirates, Director General FANR

- Introduction of the session
- MDEP activities and accomplishments
  - Mr. Tapani Virolainen, Chair of the EPRWG, STUK, Finland
- Industry activities related to commissioning of new reactors
  - Mr. Shenjie Gu, Deputy Chief Engineer, SNERDI, China
  - Mr. Jeff Gasser, Executive Vice President Operational Readiness, Vogtle 3 and 4, USA
  - Mr. Dominique Lagarde, Senior Vice-President Nuclear Engineering, EDF, France
  - Mr. Yunho Kim, Director, KHNP Washington DC Center, Korea
  - Mr. G. Nageswara Rao, Executive Director of Operation, NPCIL, India
- Discussion

15:30-16:00 Break

### **Vendor Inspection**

16:00-17:45

Chairs: Dr. S. S. Bajaj, Indian PG member,
Chair AERB
Mr. Yong Hwan Kim, Korean PG representative,
Secretary General NSSC

- Introduction of the session
- MDEP activities and accomplishments
  - Mr. Richard Rasmussen, Chair of the VICWG, US NRC
- Industry activities related to vendor inspection
  - Mr. Francis Muguet, NQSA Technical Manager, ISO
  - Mr. Hwoang Yoon Park, General Manager of Nuclear Quality Control in Nuclear Business Group, Doosan Heavy Industries and Construction co., Ltd., Korea
  - Mr. Serge Montrichard, SG Product Line Manager, Valinox Nucléaire, France
  - Mr. Steve Vaslet, Licensing Director, Hinkley Point C Project, NNB GenCo, UK
- Discussion

#### 17:45 End of day 1

# 15 May 2014

#### **SESSION 4**

### **Digital Instrumentation and Control**

8:30-10:00

Chairs: Mr. Fredrik Hassel, Sweden PG member,
Deputy Director-General SSM
Mr. Petteri Tiippana, Finland PG member,
Director-General STUK

- Introduction of the session
- MDEP activities and accomplishments
  - Mr. Daniel Santos, Chair of the DICWG, US NRC
- Industry activities in relation with digital I&C
  - Mr. Gary Johnson, International Electrotechnical Commission IEC/SC45A Chair
  - Mr. Johannes Pickelmann, Chair of the CORDEL Digital I&C Task Force
  - Mrs. Marjo Mustonen, Senior Vice President of Nuclear Safety, TVO, Finland
  - Mr. Richard Delong, International Licensing and Regulatory Support, Westinghouse, USA
  - Mr. Warren R. Odess-Gillett, Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers
- Discussion

10:00-10:30 Break

### New reactor activities related to the Fukushima Daiichi accident

#### 10:30-12:00

Chairs: Mr. Pierre-Franck Chevet, France PG member,
Chair ASN
Mr. Daiji Takeuchi, Japan PG representative,
Director-General for Nuclear Regulatory Technical Affairs NRA

- Introduction of the session
- MDEP activities and accomplishments
  - Mr. Tim Allmark, Superintending Inspector, UK STC representative, ONR
- Other activities related to the follow up of the Fukushima Daiichi accident
  - Mr. Javier Reig, Committee on Nuclear Regulatory Activities Bureau, Nuclear Energy Agency
  - Mr. Bernard Chaloin, Co-Leader of the WANO Design Project, WANO
  - Mr. Jim Lyons, Division Director of Nuclear Installation Safety, IAEA
  - Mr. Douglas J. Walters, Vice President of regulatory affairs, Nuclear Energy Institute, USA
  - Dr. Hans Wanner, ENSI Director General, Chair, WENRA
- Discussion

12:00-14:00 Lunch

### **Codes and Standards Harmonisation**

14:00-15:30

Chairs: Mr. Terry Jamieson, Canadian PG member,
Vice-President CNSC
Mr. Valery Bezzubtsev, Russian PG member,
Deputy Chair Rostechnadzor

- Introduction of the session
- MDEP activities and accomplishments
  - Mr. Xue Jun Wei, Chair of the CSWG, CNSC, Canada
- Industry activities related to harmonisation of codes and standards
  - Pr. Nawal Prinja, Technical Director of AMEC Clean Energy Europe, CORDEL
  - Mr. Kevin Ennis, Director, ASME, USA
  - Mr. Denis Buisine, President of the Drafting Committee, AFCEN, France
  - Mr. Haruei Miyaguchi, Secretary of Main Committee on Power Generating Facility Code, JSME, Japan
- Discussion

15:30-16:00 Break

### **MDEP Way Forward and Related Activities**

16:00-17:30

Chairs: Dr. Allison Macfarlane, MDEP PG Chair,
Chair US NRC
Mr. Pierre-Franck Chevet, France PG member,
Chair ASN

- Introduction of the session
- Other initiatives of harmonisation in the nuclear safety area and interaction with MDEP
  - Ms. Sophie Mourlon, MDEP Steering Technical Committee Chair
  - Mr. Glenn M. Tracy, Committee on Nuclear Regulatory Activities Bureau, US NRC
  - Mr. Jerald G. Head, Senior Vice-President for Regulatory Affairs of GE-Hitachi, Chair of CORDEL
  - Mr. Tom O'Connor, Director of the Office of Advanced Reactor Technologies in the Office of Nuclear Energy at the Department of Energy, Generation IV International Forum (GIF)
  - Mr. Jim Lyons, Division Director of Nuclear Installation Safety, IAEA
  - Mr. Petteri Tiippana, Director-General STUK, WENRA
- Discussion

#### **CLOSING SESSION**

Chairs: Dr. Allison Macfarlane, MDEP PG Chair, Chair US NRC Mr. Javier Reig, Nuclear Energy Agency

#### 17:30-18:00 Conclusion and Closing of the Conference

• Conference summary and way forward

OECD Nuclear Energy Agency
12, boulevard des Îles
92130 Issy-les-Moulineaux, France
Tel.: +33 (0)1 45 24 10 15-Fax: +33 (0)1 45 24 11 10
E-mail: nea@oecd-nea.org – Internet: www.oecd-nea.org